You get what you give

It’s the little things in a relationship that make it feel special.

Aaron is out mowing the yard and though while I’m inside where it’s cool and quiet, I packed up my small cooler with a damp washcloth tucked inside a ziploc bag – to wash off his face after he’s done, an ice pack and an unopened bottle of water. It is sitting outside on the patio table. I do this each time he mows the lawn and I know he appreciates it greatly.

We tell each other “I love you” at least once a day, and we mean it. That’s something I didn’t keep up in past relationships. I suppose everyone is like that at some point in their lives.

We’re approaching six months together and we have yet to have a disagreement (a serious one, not a joking type thing).

He loves and supports me in more ways I never imagined possible. Our taste in movies, food, outdoorsy stuff is uncanny. I tell him often that I was waiting for someone like him. He smiles and replies “me too.” We laugh hilariously loud at least a few times a day. I guess that’s one way to liven up this quiet home. 🙂

Happy almost Friday, ya’ll!

ps: I landed a new job!

One thought on “You get what you give

  1. My wife and I are on our second marriage. We take an active role in making sure each other feel appreciated as much as possible. I think that’s key and like you, we both may not have been that attentive in past relationships. Congrats on the job!

Leave a Reply

