Like a good neighbor….

Ever think that when bad things happen, you’ll be taken care of? Not so with car insurance companies. They exist to rip you off and cut you down so that when you’re lucky to get to the settlement phase, you get barely any scraps of what you deserve. I discovered this last week when the other drivers’ insurance (which happens to share my insurance company) offered a settlement that’s not even laughable.

You have three choices:
1. Give up, take whatever offer they give you and cut your losses.
2. Get a lawyer and hope they won’t take more than 30% of your total settlement.
3. Do it yourself, which is free (generally speaking) but since you don’t know all the legal lingo, you’ll have to research everything on your own. It may take longer than getting a lawyer but in the end, you’ll come out on top.

I’m going with #3. Why? Well, my injuries aren’t serious to the point of broken bones, nor am I experiencing zero pain. So as long as I can push through this Insurance BS – I can do anything!

After all this blows over, I’m getting a new car insurance company. I’ve heard too many horror stories with my insurance and I think it’s justifiable if I leave because honestly, I don’t want to go through this again.

So now, nearly five months after the accident, all my bills: Medical + Ambulance (4 total bills altogether – fun!) are either being sent into collections or getting late fees tacked on. I’m just at my end of everything. We NEED this money but I don’t want to settle with a fraction of what I deserve. Plus with my back issues, I’m just not flexible like I used to be and it’s very frustrating.

If any of you have dealt with this, I’d love to hear from you… I get some advice at work (I work at a law firm – ha) but have been hearing mixed opinions. I know not anyone can guarantee a legal outcome, but I’d just like to know what to expect, ballpark amount.

Time for bed, actually about a half hour late but who really goes to bed on time on a Sunday evening? Not I!

G’night all. Have a lovely night.

 

*Change of plans… getting a lawyer. :/

Leave a Reply

