Funny + Serious Stuff

The first thought that entered my mind this morning, besides the usual “Do I have to get up?” was “I want White Castle today.” I’m eating my 2nd dinner: the last two of 7 sliders I bought this morning before work. I bought more, for Clint & I. He wanted to try their breakfast slider. Bacon egg slider. OH SO GOOD!

I think I’m White Castle’d out. Sunday night I was good and baked dinner at home: chicken breasts stuffed with seasonings and Italian cheeses – then topped with the cheese just before pulling them out; french style green beans; thin spaghetti. It is super rare when I get fast food for work – so I guess it’s OK if I treat myself. 🙂

Today was a stressful day at work – lots of computer issues that made my reports all wonky – and agents mad at me for it. In the end, they’ll be paid for what is rightfully theirs but that doesn’t stop them from interrupting my break and lunch complaining to me about it. Upper management is “working” on it but meh. Again with those who complain. OK I get my blog/journal/whathaveyou is a bit of a cluster of complaints but it is mine. You have the option of leaving, closing out the window – or visiting another site. In real life you usually do not have this luxury. @ work oh dear. Each break I had, an agent started to complain about the lack of good/quality calls = sales. She recently had a death in the family so I understand her lack of enthusiasm but you still need to make the sales. I told her it’ll get better and she scoffed. Really? It will get better if you believe it will. Otherwise it won’t and you’ll complain to anyone else who will listen.

On a sad note, Clint’s grandmother is in the hospital. It’s rather serious. I won’t get into details but she undergoes surgery next week but Clint thinks she may not pull through. :/ She’s a wonderful woman – the times the family gets together she lights up when I sit next to her and talk to her. I’ll never forget Christmas 2010 meeting her with the family – met his family on Turkey Day. I knew she was hard of hearing so I tried to think of topics that were relevant – but I think I just ended up talking about the weather. She just smiled and was nodding. I was unsure if she was understanding me. I do have a soft voice. That evening on the drive home, Clint told me he has never seen her light up -at all- with anyone. She’s 96. I do hope she pulls through, but she has lived a long life.

This brings me to the 2nd anniversary of a woman who was dear to my heart that passed away due to Breast Cancer. Just the day after my car accident in Feb ’10 she died but I had seen her just 3 weeks prior, shopping at my work. I was working at the service desk. Luck would have it that I was called out there just moments ago to cover someone’s break. Then I saw her. She was riding in one of those motor-cart things. Her face lit up when she saw me. She was frail looking and very thin. I remember her being plump and healthy. I immediately ran over to her and she gave me the biggest/tightest hug ever. Despite her frailness, she was rather strong. She commented that I’m still just skin and bones. I told her I’m just stressed out like normal but I’m alright. I noticed that her cart was full of bagged groceries and asked if she needed help with carry out. [we ask this with anyone who appears to need assistance]. She said she can manage, since I’m the only one at the service desk. I told her to hold on a minute. I went back to the desk, rang up my manager and asked if I could help with a carry out. OK I normally NEVER ask to do this. My manager was on the way back anyway and noticed that the customer was waving me towards her so my manager said that’s fine. I didn’t bother with a jacket – though it was really cold out. I walked alongside her to her car outside, in handicapped parking. If you knew this woman, she loathed being taken special care of. She used to scoff at anyone helping her. She unlocked the back door and I went ahead and loaded up the groceries, to ensure that nothing would get smashed, I tied the bags together, loosely. I knew where she lived and I told her I’d visit her soon.

Those words will haunt me forever.

She lived just down the street from my Dad. After everything was loaded, it started to sprinkle. Jean asked if I had taken my lunch, but I said no. She pulled $10 from her purse and handed it to me. I told her we can’t accept tips. And we can’t.. we can get fired for it, actually. She said it isn’t a tip, it’s lunch money – and to not argue with her. I gave her another hug. She told me to get back inside where it’s warm. I made sure she made it out of the parking lot OK.

I never went to visit her. Life got too busy, but it was no use. She was diagnosed with cancer a few months prior, hitting the chemo hard but it was too late. In the same hospital I was treated at after my car accident, the day after she was admitted and passed away.

I would love to say that she was a family member, but she isn’t related to me. She babysat my sister and I during the summer for several years. Usually kids hate their babysitters but we both loved her and she loved us. We’d run/play in her house, and had an entire floor to claim as ours. She introduced musical type movies. Mary Poppins, The Sound of Music, Wizard of Oz, etc. She was a school teacher but never had kids of her own. We loved her three big dogs. Cain, Abel & Matilda. They weren’t scary at all, just four-legged, furry, slobbery things. Oh and they barked, A LOT! She pissed off the Neighborhood Association by painting her sunny yellow house a School Bus Yellow. It was HILARIOUS! They tried to get her to paint it back but she refused. She had an independent mind of her own and she wasn’t afraid to use it. I admire her for that.  I had asked her why she never married and had kids. She told me you can be happy even when alone. Just have lots of grandkids around and you can spoil them rotten.

I wish I had spent more time with her.

I better hop off here and get the dishes washed, will be nice when we move into a respectable apt complex and can actually use the DW.

Happy Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

